Home > Faculty & Staff > Awards and Recognition > Teacher/Scholar Award

Teacher/Scholar Award

In order to identify, celebrate, and encourage participation in Honors instruction by accomplished scholars, Honors and Undergraduate Research annually presents several Teacher/Scholar Awards.

A central objective of Honors and Undergraduate Research is to place students of exceptional promise under the tutelage of the most successful researchers and teachers at Texas A&M University. Scholars who are daily engaged in advancing the frontiers of knowledge in their fields often bring unparalleled excitement and innovation to the classroom.

Award Recipients


Award Year Recipient(s)
2011-2012 Dr. Jyotsna Vaid (Psychology)
2010-2011 Dr. Karen-Beth Scholthof (Plant Virology) and Dr. David Toback (Physics and Astronomy)
2006-2007 Dr. Charles R. Conrad (Communication), Prof. Rodney Hill (Architecture), and Dr. Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr. (Psychology)
2005-2006 Dr. Sara Alpern (History) and Dr. Roland Allen (Physics and Astronomy)
2004-2005 Dr. Arvind Mahajan (Finance) and Dr. Michelle Taylor-Robinson (Political Science)
2003-2004 Dr. Patricia Phillippy (English) and Dr. David McWhirter (English)
2002-2003 Dr, Annie McGowan (Accounting), Dr. Mary Ann O'Farrell (English), and Dr. J. Martin Scholtz (Biochemistry and Biophysics)
2001-2002 Dr. Dennis Berthold (English)
2000-2001 Dr. David Bergbreiter (Chemistry), Dr. Victoria Rosner (English), and Dr. Jyotsna Vaid (Psychology)
1999-2000 Dr. Douglas Brooks (English), Dr. Timothy Mitchell (Spanish), and Dr. Donald Naugle (Physics and Astronomy)
1998-1999 Dr. Donald R. Dickson (English), Dr. Mardell McCuskey Shepley (Architecture), and Dr. Leroy G. Dorsey (Communication)
1997-1998 Dr. Larry Johnson (Veterinary Integrative Biosciences), Dr. Paul A. Parrish (English), and Dr. Betty M. Unterberger (History)
1996-1997 Dr. Jeffrey Conant (Marketing), Dr. Emily Davidson (Psychology), and Dr. Raghvendra Pandey (Electrical Engineering)
1995-1996 Dr. Melanie Hawthorne (French) and Dr. Christine Townsend (Agricultural Leadership)
1994-1995 Dr. Larry Oliver (English), Dr. Jeffrey W. Kelly (Chemistry), and Dr. Kurt Ritter (Communication)
1993-1994 Dr. Raymond C. Battalio (Economics), Dr. William Bedford Clark (English), and Dr. Nancy Joe Dyer (Spanish)
1992-1993 Dr. Susan S. Golden (Biology), Dr. George P. "Bud" Peterson (Mechanical Engineering), and Dr. Rand L. Watson (Chemistry)
1991-1992 Dr. Ozden Ochoa (Mechanical Engineering) and Dr. James Rosenheim (History)
1990-1991 Dr. Stephen Daniel (Philosophy), Dr. Gretchen Casper (Political Science), and Dr. George Kattawar (Physics and Astronomy)
1989-1990 Dr. R.J.Q. Adams (History), Dr. William Owen, and Dr. Nick Pace (Biochemistry and Biophysics)
1988-1989 Dr. Robert Ivie (Communication), Dr. John Lenihan (History), Dr. Katherine O'Keefe (English), Dr. Vivian Paul (Architecture), and Dr. Jeffrey Pommerville (Biology)
1987-1988 Dr. Mark B. Busby (English), Dr. Joseph B. Natowitz (Chemistry), Dr. Ethel A. Tsutsui (Biochemistry and Biophysics), and Dr. Andrew C. Vastano (Oceanography)
1986-1987 Dr. Robert W. Burch, Dr. Homer Carlisle, Dr. Dwight C. Conway, Dr. Ronald Darby, Dr. Donald J. Darensbourg, Dr. Marcetta Y. Darensbourg, Dr. Chester S.L. Dunning, Dr. Margaret J.M. Ezell, Dr. John R. Gold, Dr. Duane C. Kraemer, Dr. Harry P. Kroiter, Dr. Gerald E. Miller, Dr. Jack R. Nation, Dr. Comer O. Patterson, Dr. William Rundell, Dr. Steven N. Wiggins, Dr. James R. Wild


Award Terms

Up to three Teacher/Scholars will be designated each year. Recipients of the award receive a grant of $2,000; these funds may be used for any purpose that enhances the Teacher/Scholar’s research or teaching. The purchase of equipment, professional travel, summer salary, course development, instructional innovation, and academic computing are among the possible uses for the grant.


To be eligible, faculty members must have taught a minimum of six credit hours of Honors course work during the last three academic years. In meeting this requirement, faculty may count each advisee in the University Undergraduate Fellows Program, two advisees pursuing Honors Independent Study, or three students completing Honors Contracts as equivalent to a three-hour Honors course. Nominees are expected to have proven records of excellence in teaching and research.

Application Procedure

Each application must include:
  • Application Form provided by Honors and Undergraduate Research
  • A one-page version of the applicant’s curriculum vita.
  • Statement by the applicant (one to two pages) addressing the following question: “What are the qualities of your Honors classes (and/or your Honors independent studies courses and/or your Honors contracts) as compared with regular classes and directed studies courses?”
  • One letter of recommendation solicited by the applicant addressing the scope of scholarly achievement. This letter should be sent separately on the applicant's behalf to the address below.

Nominees should send their applications with supporting documentation to Honors and Undergraduate Research, c/o the Honors Programs Advisory Committee, 4233 TAMU (114 Henderson Hall). The deadline for nomination packets is in late March. For additional information, please contact Dr. Sumana Datta, sumad@tamu.edu or 845-1957.

Selection Process

The Honors Programs Advisory Committee (a reporting committee of the Faculty Senate chaired by the Executive Director of Honors & Undergraduate Research) selects Teacher/Scholars based upon the following criteria:
  • Contribution and commitment to honors education measured in terms of the nominee’s participation in the honors programs at Texas A&M University.
  • Embodiment of the Teacher/Scholar ideal, a combination of teaching and scholarship excellence. The letter of recommendation should specifically address this issue.
  • Prospect that the Teacher/Scholar award would enhance the recipient’s teaching/research activities.