Community Leaders

FOCUS Community Leaders impact the direction of first-year FOCUS students by providing dedicated leadership and mentorship. Community Leaders will strengthen their personal & professional skills while collaboratively working with FOCUS staff to ensure first-year FOCUS students achieve the set forth learning outcomes, and develop experience that may be applied in other professional or volunteer situations.

To apply to become a FOCUS Community Leader, students must:

  • Be enrolled as a full-time student at Texas A&M
  • Have and maintain at least a 2.5 GPR at the end of spring semester after submitting an application 
  • Be able to fit a UGST 181 course section in their schedule
  • Be able to complete at least one year of service
  • Desire to facilitate classroom activities and discussions
  • Desire to gain presentation skills and individual mentoring skills
  • Desire to impact students, give back to the FOCUS learning community, and go above and beyond to make a difference!

FOCUS Community Leaders spend about 12-15 hours per month on FOCUS-related tasks. These tasks include (but are not limited to):

  • Community Leader team meetings
  • UGST 181
  • Development activities

Community Leaders receive extensive training in February, August, and January, and attend various events with FOCUS during Howdy Week. Community Leaders receive non-monetary compensation (such as camp, meals, activities, and treats) for volunteering their time and effort in supporting FOCUS students.

2017-2018 FOCUS Community Leaders

First Name Last Name Email Address Class Year
Erika Alcocer 2018
Rosa Aviles 2020
Jasmine Arambula 2019
Heather Beck 2018
Heidy Benitez 2020
Roberto Blanco 2018
Tomas Britt 2020
Taylor Carandang 2020
Demonta Coleman 2020
Marlenny Flores 2019
Maribel Garcia 2019
Yurisa Garcia 2019
Jasmine Gill 2018
Cerci Hammons 2018
Quan Huynh 2018
David Ibarra 2019
Jenny Jaimes Gonzalez 2020
Lesley Lerma 2020
Roman Lopez 2020
Nariko Nakachi 2020
Jaqueline Navarette 2020
Karen Ortiz 2020
Nicholas Palma 2019
Gladys Pedraza 2020
Madeleyne Rodriguez Herrera 2020
Selina Ruano 2019
Sith Senesoury 2019
Breana Rasberry 2020
Jocelyn Rodriguez 2019
Haiying Zhang 2020