Home > Students > TAMU Students > Student Recognition

Student Recognition

Texas A&M University LAUNCH students are engaged in and out of the classroom. Their passion and dedication to excellence often results in students being recognized with university-level awards and election to top student leadership positions. Click the title of each award or position to see a list of our students who have been recognized.

Please note: We are in the process of updating these lists. If you see an error or omission, please let us know!

The Brown Foundation-Earl Rudder Memorial Outstanding Student Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a graduating senior at Texas A&M University. Only two Brown-Rudder awards are presented at Texas A&M each year. The award is normally presented at commencement exercises at Texas A&M each May.

The award honors top students who exemplify the leadership and related traits of the late Gen. Earl Rudder, a World War II hero who served as president of Texas A&M from 1959 until his death in 1970. To be eligible for the Brown-Rudder award, a student must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, leadership, be a member of an honor or professional society and have participated in extracurricular activities, including community service, with dedication to Texas A&M and its principles.


The Robert Gates-Muller Family Outstanding Student Award was established through a gift from the Muller family of Galveston to provide public recognition to the outstanding seniors graduating from Texas A&M who have demonstrated those qualities of leadership, patriotism and courage exemplified by Robert M. Gates. He served as president of the university from 2002 until 2006, when he was named U.S. Secretary of Defense.

The Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. The award was established in April 1973 and is given annually to the outstanding sophomore, junior, and senior of each academic college. Named in honor of the first president of the A&M College of Texas, this award recognizes outstanding scholastic achievement on a university-wide scale.

The Gathright Scholar Award is given yearly at the Parents' Weekend All-University Awards Ceremony and carries a great deal of prestige. The selection criteria calls for nomination of outstanding students by the dean of their respective college.


Phi Kappa Phi Outstanding Junior
Each year, the deans in each college select the most outstanding student from among all the juniors in their respective colleges.  Each outstanding junior is then interviewed by a Phi Kappa Phi committee, after which the committee selects the Phi Kappa Phi Outstanding Junior for the year.


Buck Weirus Spirit
The Buck Weirus Spirit Award honors up to 55 students each year who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie spirit. Unlike other awards,the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to the university through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award, named for Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, recognizes students for their outstanding contributions to student life programs at Texas A&M University.  Mr. Weirus served as Executive Director of The Association of Former Students from1964 to 1980. Because of his unique leadership, vision, and support of student involvement, this award was established by The Association's Board of Directors in 1982 in his honor.


Diversity Service
The Diversity Service Awards acknowledge and honor the efforts of students, faculty and staff who strive to promote understanding and appreciation of diversity in its multitude of forms at Texas A&M University. Individual Diversity Service Award recipients will each receive a $300 cash reward and framed certificate. Team Diversity Service Award recipients will each receive a framed certificate.


Women's Progress Award
The Women’s Progress Awards have been honoring Texas A&M University students, staff, faculty, and administrators who encourage and promote sensitivity to and awareness of issues that relate to women since 1994.


Academy for Future International Leaders
The Academy for Future International Leaders (AFIL) is a year-long high impact interdisciplinary program in which outstanding undergraduates with potential leadership skills obtain in-depth learning experience in global issues. AFIL complements any major and allows students to gain a global perspective and to prepare for leadership roles in the increasingly international 21st Century. The AFIL is especially suited for students who have had little or no international experience. 


Student Body President
The Executive Branch of the Student Government Association is headed by the Student Body President (SBP). The SBP serves as a representative and advocate for the student body. With the assistance of the Executive Council, the Student Body President works to impletent Student Senate legislation andcoordinate the activities of Student Government.


MSC President
The Memorial Student Center (MSC) promotes leadership development through campus programs and service opportunties while preparing students to engage in a glogal society. The MSC President provides vision and directior for all MSC programs and committees and chairs the MSC Board of Directors.


RHA President
The purpose of the Residence Hall Association (RHA) is to build community and develop leadership among on-campus residents. RHA serves as an “umbrella organization” to Hall Councils and other on-campus engagement organizations.