Unterberger Award

In 2004, the Betty M. Unterberger Award for Outstanding Service to Honors Education was created and presented to Dr. Unterberger in recognition of her many years service and significant contribution to the growth and development of Honors education at Texas A&M. Subsequent recipients have been recognized based on their overall contribution to the advancement of high-impact education at Texas A&M.

Dr. Betty Miller Unterberger, who retired from Texas A&M in 2004, was the first female full professor at Texas A&M. She was mentor to numerous graduate and undergraduate students and a great advocate for Honors education at Texas A&M. Dr. Unterberger was the recipient of a number of awards during her illustrious career, including the Teacher-Scholar Award from the University Honors Program in 1997.

Award Recipients

Award Year   Recipient
2022 Dr. Jen Dulin (Biology)
2021 Dr. Charles Conrad (Communication)
2020 Dr. Faizan Kabani (Caruth School of Dental Hygiene)
2019 Dr. Kelly Brumbelow (Civil and Environmental Engineering) and Dr. Georgiane Moore (Ecosystem Science and Management)
2018 Dr. Marian Eide (English)
2017 Dr. Sara Alpern (History)
2016 Dr. Sarah Misemer (Hispanic Studies)
2015 Dr. Chris Houser (Geosciences)
2014 Dr. Christopher Quick (Biomedical Engineering and Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology)
2013 Dr. Nancy Amato (Computer Science & Engineering)
2012 Prof. Rodney Hill (Architecture)
2011 Dr. Elizabeth D. Tebeaux (English)
2010 Dr. Edward A. Funkhouser (Biochemistry & Biophysics)
2008 Ms. Cynthia M. Raisor (English)
2004 Dr. Betty M. Unterberger (History)

Award Terms

Award recipients are honored with a custom plaque at the annual LAUNCH Recognition Ceremony held just before Spring commencement.

Selection Procedure

Nominees are considered by a committee of staff members based on their record of teaching, mentorship, and scholarly impact.

To read bios of previous recipients, please vist https://tamuhonors.wordpress.com/?s=unterberger