The Robert Gates-Muller Family Outstanding Student Award was established in 2007 through a gift from the Muller family of Galveston to provide public recognition to an outstanding senior graduating from Texas A&M who has demonstrated those qualities of leadership, patriotism, courage, and service to country, school, and nation so clearly exemplified by Robert M. Gates. Dr. Gates served as president of Texas A&M university from 2002 until 2006, when he was named U.S. Secretary of Defense.

To be eligible for the Gates-Muller, a student must:

  • Have displayed to a high degree those admirable personal traits that characterized Robert Gates.
  • Have completed not less than one-half of his/her degree requirements while enrolled at Texas A&M University.
  • Rank academically in the upper one-third of his/her class at the end of his/her undergraduate curriculum.
  • Be occupying or have held positions of leadership in one or more major student organizations (i.e. Student Government, Memorial Student Center, Corps of Cadets, Residence Hall Association, Off-Campus Aggies, Fish Camp, Department of Multicultural Services, etc.) and/or in state or nationally recognized student organizations, or social, church, and/or other similar organizations.
  • Be a candidate for a baccalaureate degree at the end of the spring semester or during the preceding 12-month period in which the award is presented.
  • Have an exemplary conduct record while enrolled in the university.
  • Have displayed a great love for his/her university and demonstrated his/her willingness to uphold the principles for which it stands.
  • Not be a recipient of the Brown Foundation-Earl Rudder Memorial Outstanding Student Award.

The award will not be made posthumously nor to a selected student who fails to complete degree requirements.  In either of these eventualities, the highest qualified alternate will be designated as the recipient of the award.

Learn more about Special Awards at Graduation.